NameTitleAssumed officeLeft officeParty
Col. David JemibewonGovernorMarch 1976July 1978Military
Col. Paul TarfaGovernorJuly 1978October 1979Military
Chief Bola IgeExecutive Governor1 October 19791 October 1983Unity Party of Nigeria (UPN)
Dr. Victor Omololu OlunloyoExecutive Governor1 October 198331 December 1983National Party of Nigeria (NPN)
Lt. Col. Oladayo PopoolaGovernor4 January 1984September 1985Military
Col. Adetunji Idowu OlurinGovernorSeptember 1985July 1988Military
Col. Sasaenia OresanyaGovernor27 July 1988August 1990Military
Col. Abdulkareem AdisaGovernor3 September 1990January 1992Military
Chief Kolapo Olawuyi IsholaExecutive Governor2 January 199217 November 1993Social Democratic Party (SDP)
Navy Capt. Adetoye Oyetola SodeAdministrator9 December 199314 September 1994Military
Col. Chinyere Ike NwosuAdministrator14 Sep 199422 Aug 1996Military
Col. Ahmed UsmanAdministrator22 August 1996August 1998Military
Comm. Pol. Amen Edore OyakhireAdministrator16 August 199828 May 1999Military
Dr. Lam AdesinaGovernor29 May 199928 May 2003Alliance for Democracy (AD)
Rashidi Adewolu LadojaGovernor29 May 200328 May 2007People’s Democratic Party (PDP)
Christopher Alao-AkalaGovernor (de facto)12 January 20067 December 2006People’s Democratic Party (PDP)
Christopher Alao-AkalaGovernor29 May 200729 May 2011People’s Democratic Party (PDP)
Abiola AjimobiGovernor29 May 201129 May 2019Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN)
Seyi MakindeGovernor29 May 2019IncumbentPeople’s Democratic Party (PDP)